Costa Book Awards 2013: winners announced

Costa Coffee Book Awards announced on 6th January the winners in the five categories of: Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book.

The five winning authors will now await the verdict for the 2013 Costa Book of the Year Award.

2013 Costa Book of the Year will be announced on Tuesday 28th January.

The five category winners are:

Novel Award:  Kate Atkinson     for  ‘Life after Life’

First Novel Award:    Nathan Filer  for   ‘The Shock of the Fall’

Costa Biography Award:    Lucy Hughes-Hallett  for    ‘The Pike’    – life of Gabriele D’Annunzio

Poetry Award:    Michael Symmons Roberts   for   ‘Drysalter’

Children’s Book Award:   Chris Riddell   for   ‘Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse’

Further details of prize, short listed and panel from the costa website link