Graph Review of: Don’t Forget to Love: an ep by Emily Lee

A Graph Review

of the ep:this happy spirit graph 70 to 80 ……..Don’t Forget To Love.  By Emily Lee

Merits more points than average of 75, should be avge 80,  only wish cd was more easily obtainable.

Also, recently released (1st Sept)  by Emily Lee another   cd:     Dance my Demons Away

Have to confess to one favourite vocal being ‘In the Balance’…..from Karmina Burana.  Sometimes a few assorted arias/ duets of Puccini, Verdi et al of mezzos and sopranos as my mood or playlist takes me.

Nothing better than to binge on Marianne Faithfull with ‘Before the Poison’ et al.  plus many assorted others thrown in from even further back from jazz and blues of Billie Holiday and what some would call ‘folk’ from another huge assortment of singers from Sandy Denny to Eva Cassidy.   Okay, huge gaps, known and unknown not ignored just not included……

I  have labelled a very few above as regulars but I do try to listen randomly, or deliberately to contemporary singers.  Yes, I have found lots to like in different ways and could drift on listing many well-established singers (Dixie Chicks, Storm Large) and assorted new (to me) like Jorja Smith who are going to be a permanent fixture on my favourite playlist.  Huge array of talent, all of them.

However, when I want to sit and listen to voice, words and music I currently fall back onto Jane Silberry’s  ‘Maria’ cd.  Within that the final, long, track is ‘Oh My My’ which just has to be listened to the final note.

There is any amount of superb singers, writers, musicians out there, old, contemporary or in the wings that deserve to be heard. I wish I had the time and memory to look more.

What’s this got to do with an Emily Lee review of ‘Dont Forget To Love’, an ep  cd released in 2015?    It’s because I have only just heard her sing and it was live on acoustic guitar (a Joan Baez song), and later listened to this ep.     emily lee cover 1Five of her own beautifully crafted and produced songs with style and variation that held together whilst showing her ability and vocal confidence. Emily and a guitar. ……. Not forgetting the intro. on first track, for me a pleasant surprise……

Tracks:    Mr Moonlight;   Special;   Don’t Forget To Love;   Ain’t Man Enough;   Blue.

 

As a contrary customer I might have put  ‘Ain’t Man Enough’ last.   But then I deserve a slap on the wrist for saying that because it wasn’t anything to do with me!!!!     It’s tough but if I had to choose one of the above it should be ‘Special’, because it is!   An ep of music and words to last a lifetime.

dont forget to love insideI have listened to the ep from first to last about six times in four days. More times than I have listened to numerous other cds over two or three months.   I don’t know who wrote the ‘about’ notes on her website; looks a bit tooo much (for me) but then it sounds like that personality over the various  tracks.  I do hope she is one of the many, many-talented singers, writers, musicians to make it in their careers.       With Emily, tread carefully, you won’t know what hits you when you listen.  You will be hooked!

Sept 1st, was  release date for her second ep, ‘Dance My Demon Away’ at a launch at the Lexington, London N1..    I was unable to go so missed out on the event of Emily Lee and a 10 piece band……. even worse……..is the problem that I can’t get the cd yet.   But will!

Meantime visit her on youtube for a taster: Emily Lee:  Sleep With A Stranger. Good song, good video!

Don’t Forget to Love‘:   A thoughtful, provoking, sensitive yet at times steely performance from an artist who will push on to even greater music.   This album will sit as my top-tip for some time……….unless the new one is as good, then it will be a fight!

Published by

John Smith

I am a Poetry ID and Poetry Society member (Committee Member). I have written poetry for years, having been published in anthologies, online, and in ‘The Unchanging Traveller’ by artist Carolyn Blake. I also write reviews, have written two novels, working on a third; a collection of short stories and a short play. (Some poems may be under my pen-name of J Johnson Smith.)